(cze) 1.82m / 96kg


Motorsport, mountain climbing


Z&Z Drevohostice s.r.o., Offroadsport a.s

2021: Ab. Stage 5
2020: 16th
2016: 16th
2012: 40th (trucks)
2010: Ab. Stage 7
2009: 7th
2007: 54th

2021: Al Sharqiya Baja (2nd), Rally Kazakhstan (11th), Hungarian Baja (4th), Baja Poland (5th), Italian Baja (5th), Hail Rally (8th)
2020: Hail Rally (2nd), Baja Satu Mare (1st), Baja Szczecinek (2nd), 4V Rally Raid Romania (2nd), Baja Poland (3rd), Baja Drawsko (3rd)
2019: Qatar Cross-Country Rally (10th), Dubai International Baja (6th), Hungarian Baja (6th), Baja Poland (4th), Rally Kazakhstan (4th)
2017: Africa Eco Race (2nd), Dubai International Baja (4th), Rally Kazakhstan (9th), Italian Baja (2nd), Baja Aragon (8th), Hungarian Baja (7th), Baja Poland (5th)
2015: Baja Russia (4th), Qatar Cross-Country Rally (4th), Pharaons Rally (5th), Italian Baja (5th), Hungarian Baja (3rd), Baja Poland (9th)
2012: FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies (2nd)
2009: FIA European Cup for Cross-Country Bajas (2nd)
5 x Hungarian Cross-Country Rallies champion
4 x Czech Cross-Country Rallies champion
3 x Polish Cross-Country Rallies champion
3 x FIA CEZ Cross-Country Trophy champion


“A lot has changed since 2009”

Miroslav Zapletal enjoyed the best result of his long Dakar career in 2009, when the rally first switched from Africa to South America. With the help of co-driver Tomas Ourednicek, the Prerov native came seventh in the cars and set a new Czech record that would stand for a decade, when Martin Prokop improved to sixth at Dakar 2019. But as the 55-year-old explains, the world's biggest rally has undergone significant changes since then; not only switching to a new continent in 2020, but also becoming seriously competitive. Miroslav is fond of Saudi Arabia, having done plenty of racing in the country before it first welcomed the Dakar two years ago. After missing the final three editions in South America, he returned with an impressive 16th place in 2020, but then suffered only his second Dakar abandon in 2021 due to a misbehaving fuel pump. For the third straight year, Miroslav will be joined in his Ford F150 Evo by Slovakian Marek Sykora, a talented co-driver and mechanic who used to race with his father Jozef. ‘Mirek’ and Marek managed to take part in a number of events in 2021, including two more in Saudi Arabia: they came second at the Al Sharqiya Baja before placing eighth at the recent Hail Rally. Miroslav has long been a regular on the FIA cross-country circuit, finishing as high as second in the 2012 World Cup standings. He has been involved in motorsport for even longer, starting out with motorbikes and enduro as a boy before switching to four wheels, and eventually making his Dakar debut in 2007. What started out as a hobby became a job when Miroslav began building cars as well as racing them. He has since produced over 20 cars at his Offroadsport team workshops in the Czech Republic, supplying vehicles to some of the country's top drivers. Racing is now part of his DNA, and he will once again be targeting the top 20 at Dakar 2022.

M.Z.: “A lot has changed since 2009. A lot of good drivers have got involved with the Dakar and the competition is huge! On Stage 5 last year, our high-pressure fuel pump got stuck 100 kilometers before the finish. We didn't have a spare in the car, so we couldn't finish the stage. But Marek and I are fine. He's a great mechanic, which is an advantage when we have technical problems on the track. I like his calm approach to navigation; he doesn't panic in stressful situations. I hope we'll be working together for a long time. We will be driving Dakar 2022 in the same car as last year, with only minor modifications. I'm always happy when I manage to finish the rally. If I can be in the top 20, I'll be satisfied. The 2021 season was strange, due to ongoing problems with Covid-19. Many races were cancelled, so the best moment of the season was every time I could start!”




  • FORD
  • F150
  • Offroadsport a.s.
  • Offroadsport a.s.
  • : 4x4 gasolina y diesel

Clasificación 2022


Recibe información exclusiva del Dakar